Low Tox cleaning

Low Tox cleaning

IMG_0052 copy.jpg

The number of chemicals that we allow ourselves to be exposed to on a daily basis is SCARY. I’m still on my mission to cut the number of toxic products that I purchase and use and have so far enjoyed getting on the DIY bandwagon, gradually replacing items with natural alternatives.

Hence the low-tox post!

I’ve made a couple of cleaners recently and refined a few recipes with a bit of inspiration from my SIL, Bianca and her bottle of vodka!

The first one, is a glass cleaner and I’m storing mine in an amber glass spray bottle that I purchased from Taylor Natural

Lemon and Peppermint Sparkling Glass Cleaner

Ratio of 1:1:2

Vinegar : Vodka : Water

5 drops peppermint

5 drops lemon/bergamot/wild orange – a citrus oil of your choosing.

Pour ingredients into the bottle and give it a little shake before each use.

You can also mix up the oil combinations – citrus is always good to include for cleaning.

I got this combo and slightly modified the recipe from Kim Reid πŸ™‚

Bathroom Shower, tile and toilet cleaner

3/4 rounded cup baking soda
1/4 cup liquid castile soap
1 tablespoon water
1 tablespoon vinegar
10 drops Lemon essential oil

 

Combine the ingredients and mix to a soft paste. This can be stored for a short time but will be most effective if you make small batches regularly for when you need it.

I found this recipe on the doterra blog hereΒ and used it today to clean the toilet. No bleach! Worked a treat!!

Let me know if you give them a go πŸ™‚ Β or if you have a recipe to share with me!

Erin x

Send me a message if you’d like to try the lemon or peppermint oil that I use! I can pop a sample in the mail if you like! Or visitΒ My doTERRA pageΒ to purchase.

 

Leave a Reply

