My body told me this week…

My body told me this week…

Unknown.jpeg
Image from sigafoose.com

…that it’d had enough!

I got the aches and pains, sore throat and knew my ripper cold was on its way. Unfortunately, despite the Facebook tagline “Healthy Erin” I had morphed into the unhealthiest version of myself.

I’ll be honest. I don’t get sick often!! Generally I take really good care of myself, eat well and try to be as kind to myself as possible. Recently, not so much. Work stress has crept back, I’ve been burning the candle at both ends and have forgotten that little rule that I’d made for myself earlier in the year about saying NO when I knew everything was getting a little crazy.

You live and learn right?

Since the decline into cold-dom, I’ve stepped it up a notch and been doing a few things to take a bit better care of myself.
Here they are in case you’re interested!!

  • Making Lola Berry’s ginger filled porridge for my breakfast: I found this recipe in her cookbook “The Happy Life”. It’s a really winner. Super easy. The only adjustments I made were to omit the maple syrup, replacing it with rice malt in both the porridge and the candied pecans. Ginger is a supercharged anti-inflammatory agent assisting to boost the immune system, sometimes I also make a warm lemon, ginger and turmeric tonic to sip on.
  • Taking a drop of lemon oil in 1/2 tsp raw honey for my sore throat and rubbing a drop each of frankincense and lemon oil on the front of my neck, topically. It was gone-o within 2 days.
  • Drinking lots of water throughout the day, interspersed with herbal tea and occasionally a glass of water with a drop of the onguard blend in it (Orange, clove, cinnamon, eucalyptus, rosemary leaf).
  • Rubbing oregano oil on the bottoms of my feet for its antiviral properties.
  • Diffusing “Easy Air” blend of (Laurel, eucalyptus, peppermint, tea tree, lemon, ravensara, cardamom) and lavender to clear my sinuses – especially at night when they were worse. I won’t lie, I also inhaled straight from the bottle or from a drop on my hands during the day on a number of occasions, rubbing the remainder straight into my chest.
  • Here are some more suggestions from “The Healthy Chef” Teresa Cutter about how to supercharge your immune system with immune boosting foods.
  • I went for a few walks and did some stretching but avoided my usual 5.30am get ups for exercise this week. This one was HARD. I miss exercise when I can’t do it but breathing is generally a necessity during exercise and I would have sounded like a pug!

What are your top taking-care-of-yourself tips when you’re sick. Share below!

Erin x

NB: All of the oils I use are CPTG doTERRA essential oils. I’ve mentioned my little business recently and am happy to share any information if you’d like to learn more.
Here’s the website where you can join to get the oils at the same, wholesale prices as me. Feel free to ask if you have any questions!

 

Leave a Reply

