A smoothie post – by request

A smoothie post – by request

Yes, you heard right.

I’m like a DJ spinning the tracks that you want played for your night out (Ok, cut me a break, self confessed nerd here!).

A whole lot less DJ, more like huge food and recipe sharing groupie!

The lovely Hanifa sent me a snapchat last night asking what I put in my green smoothies. So I did what any great friend would do. I replied with a serious of ridiculous, long winded explanations of all the different types of smoothies that I make.
I also gave her a tour of my freezer. On video. Yes, isn’t she lucky?

Because remember? I fell in love with it a little while back, you can check that post out here.

Here goes. This is the smoothie explanation.

  1. Freeze EVERYTHING

I do this a lot. Your freezer works more efficiently when it is full. So fill ‘er up!

The-freezer-needs-to-calm-down
Image from 1funny.com

At the moment I have…

  • Spinach leaves
  • Chopped celery tops
  • Chopped zucchini
  • Chopped cucumber
  • Kale leaves – you’d think these would go yucky but they don’t.
  • Activated cashews (Soaked for a few hours so as they are easier to digest)
  • Activated almonds (left overs from a similar nut milk recipe you’ll find here)
  • Cubes of juiced lemon (leftovers!)
  • Cubes of coconut milk or cream (the can dregs that I didn’t get to using)
  • Peeled and halved or chopped bananas – If I feel like I need the sweet
  • Chopped apples and pears that were on their way out.
  • Berries
  • Pumpkin puree

2. Crowd out the refined sweet stuff with this little gem below.

Here’s a base recipe that’s easily modifiable to suit a creation of your own!

  • 1 Cup liquid (water, coconut water, almond or rice milk)
  • 1/2 zucchini or other frozen green veg
  • 1/4 almonds (or other activated nuts)
  • Handful spinach (or other green)
  • A little fruit if you like 1/4 berries or 1/4-1/2 banana.

Blitz and enjoy with adjustments from below if you so desire.

3. Be creative!

Here’s a few suggestions that might float your boat…

For creaminess – add avocado or a little coconut cream. Zucchini also makes things a bit creamy!

Up the greens – spinach, kale, silver beet, beetroot leaves, cucumber, zucchini, celery, spiralling or chlorella powder, basil, mint, other herbs, ANYTHING green. Even leftovers! Yes Hanifa, I’ve even used beans!

Increase protein – chia, frozen nuts eg almonds or cashews, 2 tsp nut butter, flax seeds.

Add sweetness – 1/2 tsp maca, splash of vanilla, a medjool date (softened or chopped), sprinkle of bee pollen.

Add extra flavour – vanilla, cinnamon, cardamom, coconut oil, ginger, handful of mint

I’m also going to be experimenting with essential oils in the coming weeks. Some of the doTERRA oils can be used internally so I’ll be having a go at adding these too shortly. Don’t worry, I’ll keep you posted! These uses are on my list:

Add a drop of peppermint – for alertness, to invigorate and help with focus

Add a drop of wild orange – to aid digestion, to allay nerves

Add a drop of lemon – invigorate, warm the body, alkalising

If you want to read more about oils or purchase click here

Share your favourite smoothie recipe below!

Erin xx

Leave a Reply

