A new kind of latte

A new kind of latte

IMG_0752.jpg

Turmeric. That amazingly golden, anti-inflammatory spice.

I put it in everything! It’s my favourite addition to fridge surprise stir fry, a frequent midweek dinner of mine. It often gets popped into my soups too.

I went to Store Fifteen yesterday and blogged about it here

That visit reminded me of a recipe I tried a little while ago – the Golden Latte.

I’ve tried a few combos and I’m still perfecting the art. Store Fifteen have it down pat!

Here’s the ‘how to’ for the one I made yesterday morning…

 

Golden Latte

1-2 tsp Turmeric powder (depending on how used to it you are, I use 2 because I love the flavour perhaps start with 1!). Fresh turmeric and ginger are even better if you have it.

1/4 tsp cinnamon (or a shake, I love cinnamon!)

1/4 tsp grated or ground ginger

2 small drops vanilla

1/4 tsp cracked black pepper

2 tsp coconut oil

Your choice of milk – amount depending on preferred strength.

6 drops of liquid stevia

2 star anise

(REVISED RECIPE NOTE: just tried this with macadamia mylk and it was SO DELICIOUS!)

Combine all ingredients in the heated mylk, whisking on stove until it’s smooth.

Blend if you want it frothy or just strain and enjoy as is!

I’m actually hanging to try this with coconut milk. That’ll be the next adventure I think.

Don’t get me wrong, I love a coffee! I do try and stick to just one a day and I don’t drink it very often in summer. That’s why I like to try alternatives. That are often slightly left of centre.

Have you found any coffee alternatives that work for you?

Erin x

One thought on “A new kind of latte

Leave a Reply

