Quick, time for bed….!

Quick, time for bed….!

l-14622
Image from http://www.pixteller.com/img/14622

 

SO many things have been pointing me in the ‘go to bed earlier’ direction of late.

I’ve decided to experiment.

Sarah Wilson published this post linked to Ayurvedic explanation about the 10pm bedtime just this week, she also mentions the New Yorker’s post that details what happens (or what should be happening!) in our bodies as we fall asleep and the factors that affect a restful night.

I’m a bit of a type A personality… my nights usually go something like this.

What should I have for tea?
I’ll make that recipe. 9pm, might get on my computer.

Work. Work. Work. 9.45…bed soon, a must.

11.30. Whhhhahhhhht? Where did the time go??

I rush my sleepy bed routine or skip it all together (i.e: the avoidance of computers/blue light, phone use etc).

My new goal is to gradually change this terrible habit of mine. I know if I say I’ll be in bed by 10 every night, I’ll fail miserably. So in order to make this somewhat achievable (look at all my SMART goals appear magically as I type!) I’m going to take it easy on myself. Every night I’ll try going to bed a little bit earlier. Just to see if the more productive, rested and happier Erin is just waiting for her opportunity to shine!

Are you a bit of a night owl? What are your tried and true sleep routines that work?

G’night, don’t let the bed bugs bite!

Erin x

Leave a Reply

